“I’m not interested in teaching books by women,” says David Gilmour

I’m not interested in teaching books by women. Virginia Woolf is the only writer that interests me as a woman writer, so I do teach one of her short stories. But once again, when I was given this job I said I would only teach the people that I truly, truly love. Unfortunately, none of those happen to be Chinese, or women. Except for Virginia Woolf. And when I tried to teach Virginia Woolf, she’s too sophisticated, even for a third-year class. Usually at the beginning of the semester a hand shoots up and someone asks why there aren’t any women writers in the course. I say I don’t love women writers enough to teach them, if you want women writers go down the hall. What I teach is guys. Serious heterosexual guys. F. Scott Fitzgerald, Chekhov, Tolstoy. Real guy-guys. Henry Miller. Philip Roth.

— author and instructor David Gilmour in “David Gilmour on building strong stomachs” in Hazlitt

For reaction, see:

“Memo to David Gilmour: Teaching only books by ‘heterosexual guys’ does a huge disservice to your students,” by Jared Bland, The Globe and Mail

“U of T instructor under fire for shunning female writers,” by Graham Slaughter, The Toronto Star

“David Gilmour does not love female writers, does love himself,” National Post

“The loneliness of the old white male,” by Holger Schott Syme, Dispositio

“Why David Gilmour’s advice to ‘go down the hall’ isn’t so bad,” by Lucia Lorenzi, Rabble.ca

“Are you man enough for this dare, David Gilmour?” by Anne Theriault, Huffington Post Canada

“Feminist sandwiches and the professor who only teaches male authors,” by Adina Goldman, iVillage.ca

“Woman down the hall responds to David Gilmour,” Dangerous Words

“U of T English department head ‘appalled’ at Gilmour’s comments,” by James Bradshaw, The Globe and Mail

“As a student of David Gilmour, and a feminist, I say put away the rope,” by Rachel Bulatovich, The Globe and Mail

“The Gilmour Transcript,” Hazlitt

Leave a Reply

